top of page

Introduction

Hello everyone, welcome to Just Call Me Skinny!

Well, first of all my name is Sarah, 20 years old, and I am the founder of Just Call Me Skinny. If you're wondering what we're all about, grab a cup of herbal tea, sit back and please enjoy the read.

I have recently lost a whopping 19kg and just short of 100cm around my body. I know what you're thinking, how did she do that? Hold your horses, I'm getting there!

I've never been a "skinny" girl, I mean the last time I was a size 10 was about five years ago which if I'm being honest never seemed to bother me back then. Modern ideas of beauty were not as prominent a couple of years ago as they are now, I suppose. Anyway, let me get to the real story, shall I? Great!

In my matric year I had a lot going on both in my personal life and school life blah blah blah we won't get into all that, and when I finished school I was pushed into going overseas where I worked for a couple of months. I was miserable. I know, it seems like I was looking a gift horse in the mouth, right? But you have to remember that being in the wrong frame of mind is a very powerful force, one that I didn't know how to counter act.

Long story short, I put on a ton of wait. Literally! Well, not literally but it was a lot. When I returned to South Africa, I weighed 83kg, which according to the BMI calculater is overweight! Overweight at the age of 19? I don't think so!

I took a couple months just to reconnect with myself and figure out exactly what it was that I wanted out of life, so phylisophical I know but completely necessary. I finally submerged out of my solitary world and decided that I was tired of hating myself and tired of being well, tired. I had had enough.

I didn't use a miracle potion, although that would have been helpful! All I did was increase my protein and fruit intake and lessen my processed sugar and carbohydrate intake. Oh and I joined the local gym, can't forget about the exercise part. Sounds easy right? Who are we kidding, it's hard.

I think that the only reason that I was so successful was because I was completely determined. I didn't feel tempted or any of that, I had my eyes on the prize, but I won't kid you, it isn't as easy as I'm making it out to be.

Look at me I'm rambling on... Let's get back to what Just Call Me Skinny would like to accomplish. Basically, there are so many conflicting health and fitness ideas out there and our goal is to attempt the recipes, the workouts and the diets in order to give you feedback that you can trust.

Trust is a big word for us so not only will this be about us testing the ideas out, but it will also be a support group for you on your own journey to health and happiness where you can ask questions, connect with like-minded people, and share your successes and failures alike.

I hope that you will join me and Just Call Me Skinny on this journey so together we might live, learn, help, and share in the hopes to not only inspire each other to live a healthier lifestyle, but to actually live one.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
bottom of page